• Reader submitted

Sports Shout: Pirates win Tiburon Little League Majors title

The Tiburon Pirates exalt after winning the Tiburon Peninsula Little League Majors Division Championship on June 12 at the Strawberry Recreation District. (Elliot Karlan / For The Ark)

The Tiburon Pirates won the Tiburon Peninsula Little League’s Majors-division championship on June 12, defeating the Cardinals 11-6 in extra innings. The Phillies came back from a seven-run deficit to defeat the Tigers 10-9 to win the Minors (ages 9-11) championship. The Double A champions (ages 8-10) were the Reds, who defeated the Rangers 10-9, striking out the final Rangers batter with bases loaded in the bottom of the sixth inning. In the Rookie Minors division (machine pitch, ages 7-9), the Marlins defeated the Padres 17-13, capping a perfect season.

Meanwhile, the Tiburon Sharks defeated the Twin Cities White Sox 4-1 on June 9 to win the district Juniors Division Championship, finishing the season 11-3.

For the complete story, pick up this week's edition of The Ark on newsstands or SUBSCRIBE NOW for home delivery.

Recent stories